Home » The role of the Commission » The Commissioners

The Commissioners

Janie Annear ONZM

Janie AnnearCurrent Commissioner Janie Annear, who has been a member of the Commission since 1 July 2014 and served three terms as the Mayor of Timaru from 2004 to 2013, has been reappointed.

In 2014 Janie was appointed as an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to local government.

In April 2014 she was appointed by the Minister of Local Government as Temporary Member of the Local Government Commission and was made a permanent member in July 2014.

Janie has experience across a wide range of private sector, local government and central government roles. She serves on the Boards of the Lottery Community Facilities and Significant Projects Funds. She is also Deputy Chair of the Ara Institute of Canterbury Council.

Brendan J Duffy JP

Brendan J Duffy JPBrendan has had 21 years as an elected member of the Horowhenua District Council and 12 of these as Mayor.

He has chaired the Provincial Sector of Local Government NZ for 6 years and has been Zone 3 chair for 9 years. 

He held the position of Vice President of LGNZ for 3 years.  His governance experience is well respected by elected members across New Zealand. Brendan is a Director on the Board of MITO, he was appointed by the Minister of Health as Deputy Chair of Mid Central District Health Board and has recently received a second

Ministerial appointment as a Commissioner on the Local Government Commission for a 12-month term.